Chaukhamba and Trishul mountain ranges are clearly visible from the temple’s yard. The tradition of organising Mahayagana here every year in the month of June has been prevalent since 1940.
This temple is surrounded by acorn and cedar trees, which enhances its natural beauty. Besides this, many small waterfalls are also situated around the temple.
There is one empty room in the temple, which is said to be of Yamraj’s secretary Chitaragupta who manages the account of deeds of every individual. There is also one room in front of this very room called the Court of Yamraj.
The devotees bring with them the decorated god palanquins. This fair concludes when the devotees orbit around the temple with palanquins on their heads. There is an Ashram of Atri Muni at a short distance from here.
Locals believe that the holy Fire, which has been igniting inside the temple for several ages, had witnessed their marriage. That’s why this place has been given the name of Triyuginarayan
Here are four roofs on the temple. The topmost roof is made of copper and brass, where as other three roofs are made of logs of deodar wood. The special prayers are organized in this temple.
In this temple, the four armed idol of Lord Krishna and goddess Radha made of marble are established. The third shrine of the group belongs to Shiva temple of Chandragupta.
The border area of Shangchul Mahadev temple is around 100 Bighas. Surprisingly, the police is also prohibited in this area. Alcohol, cigarettes and leather goods as well as weapons are also banned in this village.
People believe that when Dwaraka had completely immersed under water, Lord Krishna incarnated here as Nagaraja. It is also believed that Mukhem village was established by Pandavas.
It is believed that the original temple was built by Pandavas during the Mahabharata era when this place was known by the name of Nagarkot. The Mata is worshipped here in the form of pindi.